Brugges

Posted: 30/08/2008 in Europe

Time to leave beautiful Brugges the fariytale city and head to Amsterdam. This city is gorgeous and I can’t get enough of it. Beer, waffles and chocolate, need I say more (although I’m not much of a beer drinker). There’s a pub here with 300 different kinds of beer! Another thing they have is fries with mayonnaise, not something I was too keen on. I feel very much like the scrappy Aussie though amongst these Europeans. They all dress so well and seem to be endlessly shopping (Kat you would love this place for the fashion). No fountain lakes tacky dacs here!!! Strangely though they are a pretty closed bunch and don’t smile at strangers. Either that or I creep them out when I smile at them, could it be the massive bit of waffle hanging off my chin?

I’ve done the usual tourist things and look every bit the part with my map and camera. I climbed 366 stairs to the top of the Belfry just in time to have it chime for 5 minutes at 10am, great for the ears. The view was fab. Then did the canal tour and saw buildings and bridges dating back to the 14th centuary! Last night was perfect for photography of the canals. I wish I had a tripod but I think I have way to much luggage already. The weather is so yummy being the end of their summer. This means of course that they are all tanned (although I don’t consider orange a tan!!!) and I’m nice and white although I did feel tanned in London next to all the pasty poms, he he he. I am so glad I did not do a tour as I was originally looking into. There are swarms of them all clustered together and stuck doing what is set. Cheers for now 🙂 (Still trying to figure out the wierd photo uploader)
Leave a Reply

