Hiking the Cinque Terre

Posted: 13/10/2008 in Europe

Oh my goodness I totally love this place. It’s the top of Italy along the coast and I stayed for 4 glorious days. Most of the time was about exploring the little towns, built into cliffs and surrounded by mountains that are filled with orchards and vineyards, amazing. Day 2 however was all about hiking from the first town to the fifth and it was a long walk. Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza and Monterosso, 10km but worth every step. Of course I had to have a few falls. This is how I would like to have said it happened: I was walking along the most rugged part of the path climbing up these gigantic and crooked steps when a snake came out and bit me causing me to loose my balance….however this is the way it happened. In order to look like I wasn’t tired from the first 3 walks I was powering alongside the train line on a road of the 3rd town when I rolled my ankle and landed on my knees. Seriously how embarrassing.

The first 3 walks are easy, except for the fact that I went the wrong way (or the long way) from the first town and got a little lost ending up in some old Italian fella’s vineyard. It was a long steep climb up the mountain, actually up steps (step, I hate steps!!!!!!) before the walk down. Pretty funny in hindsight. The last 2 were decent hikes along rocky paths on the cliff overlooking the sea. They were often extremely narrow and the views while amazing were a little terrifying. The weather was pretty warm so by the end of the day I was covered in sweat and dirt. Not to worry, I had booked 2 nights at an AMAZING 4 star hotel overlooking the Mediterranean. So back I went to have a shower in the huge bathroom before relaxing on my 4 poster bed, nice!!! All set to watch some cable TV. Turned on the TV and everything is in Italian, even the Simpsons. So funny to hear “Doh” in Italian. The breakfasts there were so yummy with a massive choice too. I felt very rich and important in this place only to leave 2 days later and stay in this scary hotel with grossest ever shower!

Oh and finally I found some great pizza, very happy!

Leave a Reply

