Hunter-King-Husband (an astounding God)!

Posted: 29/06/2011 in God
Tags: , , , ,

CS Lewis writes “An ‘impersonal God’-well and good. A subjective God of beauty, truth and goodness, inside our own heads-better still. A formless life-force surging through us, a vast power which we can tap-best of all. But God himself, alive, pulling at the other end of the cord, perhaps approaching at an infinite speed, the hunter, King, husband – that is quite another matter . . . There comes a moment when people who have been dabbling in religion (“Man’s search for God”) suddenly draw back. Supposing we really found Him? We never meant it to come to that! Worse still, supposing He had found us?” (CS Lewis, Miracles).

How often do we limit God to our own understanding, and worse still keep Him at a safe distance! We ourselves make Him that “allusive deity” we accuse Him of being. For some the notion of God doesn’t fit into our logical and rational thinking or into some pre-conceived ideas we have about the existence of life on earth. If you can’t perform scientific experiments on it or dissect it it’s barely worth considering. It’s a fanciful fairytale for the weak and deluded. For others there might be a questioning within them about the purpose of life and the possibility of something else out there. The idea of God sounds like a nice concept but a little too complicated – “it’s ok for someone else just not for me”. Maybe it’s true, maybe it’s not. It’s certainly hard to conceive when the Christians they know are either hypocrites (like I was for many years), seemingly un-impacted by God or completely bonkers about Him. How can people who all profess to know the same God have such different experiences? For many Christians God has been turned into a religion and a ritual and to them the idea of a personal God is ludicrous and unholy. Instead a relationship is built on a misunderstanding of His character and consists of fear, duty and striving. There is no significant connection and it’s better or easier to just keep Him at arm’s length. Yes they believe in God and practice their faith but to have an intimate, powerful and dynamic relationship with the God of the universe is far beyond their comprehension. It has been far beyond my comprehension too and this is the journey I am coming out of!

Since February 2010 I have had a comfortable relationship with God, kind of like one you’d have with a close friend but a friend who lives some distance away. A friend you mostly chat with regularly by phone and maybe have a great weekend catch up a couple of times a year. Striving and fear have slowly faded and have been replaced with a fresh revelation of His character and a more personal walk. However in the last seven or so months I have discovered God’s desire to be intimately involved in my life. I have become hungrier for Him. As I seek Him, he reveals more of Himself to me just as He promises (Jer 29:13) and as I draw near to Him, He draws near to me (James 4:8). He is surprising me with His presence, His voice and the facets of the Trinity. The more I know the more I want to know and I am becoming desperately and deeply in love with my God! When I read the above CS Lewis paragraph I identified with the Hunter-King-Husband that he describes, that is the God I am coming to know. Any understanding I had of Him is being shattered by what I’m learning and the exquisite thing is I know there is so much more. Why do more people then not want to pursue this kind of relationship with Him? Because it doesn’t fit with our idea of a comfortable God-person relationship; admit it, I sound like I’m stark raving mad, just another Jesus freak! Ha, I haven’t even started, I want to go deeper and I’m stepping outside my box of pre-conceived “God notions” to let Him do the unexpected. What about you?

Comments
  1. RJ Dawson says:

    Just found your blog. Very good post. I think maybe there is so much to know about God that we cannot get to Him as much as we would like. Then I think, no, that can’t be true. The Lord Jesus IS God, and has revealed God to us by becoming one of us. God loses none of His mystery as we look at the life of the Lord. We know all we need to know for this life by reading about Him in His Word, studying His teachings, and then allowing Him to fill in between the lines somewhat. Our relationship begins and grows through His written Word, spoken Word, and as He becomes the Living Word to as individuals. The more we pursue Him, the more we get to know Him. Still farther, I think many Christians miss God by looking beyond the Lord Jesus expecting to find another…

    Thanks,
    RJ

  2. mels33 says:

    Hey RJ, I couldn’t agree more with what you say 🙂 Its sad that so many expect so little. Thanks for your encouragement.

    • RJ Dawson says:

      Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Little ventured, little gained (unreal Christianity). All ventured (our entire heart), all gained (the Lord Jesus!). Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

