Trust is a very BIG word!

Posted: 19/12/2011 in God
Tags: , , ,

Trust is a difficult action for most of us to put into practice, harder still for those whose trust has been violated. I have been challenged of late to begin putting trust into action and it has been exceedingly difficult. Part of that is in knowing whom to trust and some is realising how much to trust them with. A verse has been playing over in my mind the last few weeks; “Trust in the LORD with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6). In reflecting on this I have become aware that God is the one that first and foremost, above all others, I need to trust. If I thoroughly and honestly look back over my journey in this life I cannot say there is ever a time where my Heavenly Father has broken my trust, let me down or abandoned me. At times it may have felt that way and indeed there have been situations that I have even blamed God for but if I honestly and fearlessly look at my part in it or consider the broken and fallen world in which I live God has not once given me cause to not trust him. In fact it’s quite the opposite. He, as promised, has bought me through trials (Isaiah 43:1-3b), given me peace (Phil 4:6-7), led the way (John 10:2-3, Hebrews 12:1b), lights my path (Psalm 119:105), provided a way out of giving in to sin (1 Corinthians 10:13), imparted hope (Psalm 62:5), taught me (Psalm 25:4-5) and so much more. And even when I stumble or rebel he is there waiting to restore me and if I trust him, set me on the right path because he is faithful and loving beyond comprehension.

So why then would I choose to trust my own understanding of how to walk this life when in doing so I have only wandered aimlessly and without hope? My understanding as learned in the world says, “Me first, trust no-one, control everything, suck it up, live it up, have an escape route and make sure your always wearing a mask”. This is clearly a very unhealthy, but not uncommon view of how to survive life. I can testify that it does not deliver any of the promises I mentioned above that God has given us. Not once, ever. In fact it has led to times of misery, destruction and much hopelessness or even purposeless wandering. That’s not the kind of life Jesus talked about when he said “…I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full” (John 10:10b). The word life comes from the Greek zóé which means both present and future existence. So “life to the full” does not just apply to the eternal life we receive when we put our trust in Jesus but life here today. After all Jesus prayed that the Kingdom of God would come to earth and the will of God be done on earth, both in the same way they are in heaven (Matthew 6:10). And the Kingdom and will of God does not include misery, destruction, hopelessness or purposeless wandering.

So what is the promise in Proverbs 3:5-6? That my life will be trouble free? That I will know no suffering or challenges? Not at all, it simply says “…he will direct my paths”. Exactly what does that mean? Sometimes we try to over interpret scripture and look for some deep and hidden meaning but really it’s very simple and the message version puts it so beautifully “Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track”. Sure trust is a big word but the promise is so much bigger. Life may be difficult at times but I can’t get off track if I just TRUST my Heavenly Father in every single aspect of my life.    

Comments
  1. […] Trust is a very BIG word! (melsmind.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

