Just for today…

Posted: 22/12/2011 in God
Tags: , , , ,

There is nothing I will face today that I cannot get through when my eyes are on Jesus. I so easily forget that and have often, particularly of late, faced days with worry, fear and dread. Just how will I make it through and worse still what about tomorrow or next week? Philippians 4:12 (NIV) however tells me that “… I can do everything through him who gives me strength”. God is faithful to his promises (Psalm 145:13b) and he does not complicate things. But I do, especially when it comes to applying scripture to my life. I know what the above verse says, I can read it but I have often lived it completely differently and that comes from not truly meditating on the word of God. Scipture is not a bunch of memory verses, you can’t just skim over it and think you get it.

It does not say “I can do everything” and leave it at that which really just means I am self reliant.

It says “I can do everything THROUGH HIM who gives me strength”.

It does not say I can do everything through him” without showing me how.

It says “I can do everything through him who gives me STRENGTH”. Jesus gives me exactly what I need to face a situation, circumstance, person or battle; strength.

It does not say “I can do some things through him who gives me strength”.

It says “I can do EVERYTHING through him who gives me strength”. There is not one thing I will face that I have to do alone, not one thing!

It does not say “I might do everything through him who gives me strength”

It says “I CAN do everything through him who gives me strength”.

Even if I feel afraid, weak, tired, incapable or daunted I can be assured that the power of God is active in my life, that I indeed can “… do everything through him who gives me strength” because [His] grace is enough; its all [I] need. [His] strength comes into its own in [my] weakness (2 Corinthians 12:8b MSG). I cannot consider myself unworthy of the promises of God and more than anything I can’t be self-reliant. We are his children. When earthly children look to their father for help does a good Father turn them away? Nor does the Lord. He gives me strength in whatever form that comes in, to face anything. If I take it literally, as I should, then I can rest assured that I truly don’t need to worry about tomorrow or even today because my God knows all about today and tomorrow and has it in hand (Matthew 6:25-34).

Leave a Reply

