I want to pray like a kid!

Posted: 01/02/2012 in God
Tags: , , ,

I have been thinking a lot about prayer lately, probably because I’m finding it challenging. It’s not that I don’t want to pray, more that I’m finding it hard to pray. Prayer is one of those things that we so easily complicate and yet it really shouldn’t be that way, after all prayer is simply conversation with God. As I’ve mentioned in previous blogs one of the biggest struggles I’ve had in my Christian walk has been how I made my faith a religious act rather than a personal relationship and that has affected all aspects of my walk with God, including prayer. I got to a point where I felt that unless I structured my prayer God wasn’t interested. It became nothing more than an obligatory ritual. What lies of the enemy I believed! Lately, I suppose because of circumstances in my life that have led to unreasonable self condemnation, I have once again taken on non-biblical expectations that I think God has of me and of my prayer life. Because I can never meet those expectations, I give up altogether.  

Two nights ago I was sitting on my front porch and I had the strongest awareness of God’s presence. Though I couldn’t hear Him audibly I sensed Him saying “I just want you to talk to me and I want you to listen because I have things I want to tell you”. I sat there thinking about it and realised it was as simple as that. I thought about some of the close relationships I have and how I interact with those friends. There is no superficiality, no rituals, no pretence, and no awkward silence; instead there is meaningful and intimate two way conversation and times of quiet reflection. Why shouldn’t it be that way with God? He created us not because he was bored or lonely but for relationship with him. More astounding than that he had planned each of our lives before he had even created the world. “Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love…” (Ephesians 1:4).

If he is our Father and loves us more than we can imagine any earthly father could love their child then surely he wants meaningful conversation rather than lip-service. Have you ever heard a child pray? They pray with an unpretentious honesty that as adults we often lose. Their humility and complete trust in Jesus is sometimes astounding and it is as if they are indeed having a conversation with their dad. In fact it is something Jesus wants in all of us (Matthew 18:2-5). I want to start having that type of conversation with my heavenly dad once again whenever, however and wherever and just as my catch up’s with a close friend differ from day to day – text messages, lunch, a phone call or an email, deep conversation or crying on their shoulder – I need to remember that so to can my prayer. After all Jesus himself prayed in many ways both on his own and amongst the crowds. He prayed all kinds of prayers; prayers of praise to the Father (Matthew 6:9), prayers of thanksgiving and gratitute (Matt 6:9-13, Luke 10:21, John 6:11; 11:41-42), petitioning prayers and prayers spoken in anguish (Matthew 26:39-42; 27:46). Prayer should be conversation not a ritual; maybe I need to have another cup of tea with Jesus!

Comments
  1. Wow…that’s true. Children do pray with unpretentious honesty, and a lot of people really don’t pray like that anymore. Being honest to God and showing who you really are to Him is really important… 🙂

    I’ve made a story about an honest prayer, is it alright if I share it? God bless you!
    http://greyskeilrainbow.wordpress.com/2011/12/03/a-prayer/

    • mels33 says:

      Thanks tacticianjenro. Your post on an honest prayer is where I’m at! And where many of us are at. I believe God wants us to be honest, after all he is our friend. That doesn’t mean we ever become complacent in prayer or forget who he is…I suppose its just getting rid of the pretence. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

